Al-Romaihi emerges champion

By admin 0

Winners of the Doha Triathlon 2018 pose with their medals.

Ebrahim al-Romaihi emerged champion in the Qatar National Championship held as part of the Doha Triathlon 2018, which concluded at the Museum of Islamic Art Park on Friday. Al-Romaihi clocked 1hr12mins43secs, about four minutes clear Mubarak al-Ajji who finished second, while Abdulla Shaheen al-Kaabi was third. About 400 athletes in various categories took part in the event in which athletes had to swim, run and cycle.Jamal Abdul Latif al-Kuwari, Qatar Cycling and Triathlon Federation Secretary-General, expressed his joy at the strength of the competition.
“The race was excellent and the participants benefited a lot from the second edition compared to the previous one. We’re also happy to have a category for the Qatari athletes and we witnessed tough competition in that class for the Qatar National Championship,” he added.
Different distances were earmarked for three categories: Super Sprint – 375m swim, 10km bike, 2.5k run; Sprint – 750m swim, 20km bike, 5k run and Olympic – 1500m swim, 40km bike, 10k run.
Aday Alvarez Diez de Ulzurrun emerged as the strongest athlete in both the men’s Olympic Open and Overall classes. The TriClub athlete took 2:03.27 to finish the course. He was more than 11 minutes faster than teammate David Walsh in the Open class. Ahmad al-Sharhan of 3Club was third with 2:14.50.
In the Olympic Overall Class, De Ulzurrun was followed by Joan Pedret Ruiz and Joady Sanderson, who finished first and second in the Veterans’ category. Ruiz was timed in 2:12.35, while Sanderson was a close third. Walsh and Sharhan finished in the fourth and fifth spots, respectively.

Isora Sosa Caballero topped the Olympic Open Women’s Class with 2:23.48, beating Toni Snoxell easily. Gerda Maria Dumitru was third.
Pia Sundsteadt, who is excellent in bike and running, came on the top of the Veterans and Olympic Overall. Caballero was about four minutes slower to Sundsteadt and Andrea Stadler was third with 2:32.19.
The Olympic Class Team titles were claimed by The Champions (B Haithem, J Parker and G Abate) in the men’s section, while the women’s title went to Team Awesome, represented by S Neeson, J Kaaoush and L van Gisbergen).  Samuel Valdez and Nadia Lie, both from Doha College, put up a fine display and won the Super Sprint titles in the individual category. Valdez (45:13) beat TriClub’s Arran Cameron (48:49) and Lie clocked 53:32 to brush aside the challenge of Rasha Sajeer Kalandan (Birla Public School), who required 1:02:11 to complete the course.
The Sprint Class was contested by athletes in four sections – open men and women and veteran men and women. TriClub’s pair of Bernard McCullagh and Carla Pregigueiro bagged both the Individual and overall crowns. Andrew Buckley and Elizabeth Dunne topped the veterans class timesheets.
Dr Mohamed Jaham al-Kuwari, QCTF President and Dr Nasser al-Mohannadi were the guests of honour at the awards ceremony.


Leave a reply